Richmond Home

Frederic W. Boatwright Society

The Frederic W. Boatwright Society was founded in 1972 as a tribute to Dr. Frederic W. Boatwright, who served as president of the University of Richmond from 1895–1946. With remarkable foresight and dynamic leadership during his fifty-one years as president, Dr. Boatwright charted firm directions for the superb, modern University that we know today. His vision and direction led, in 1914, to the relocation of the campus to its current location.

At the society's annual meeting each spring, members of the class who are celebrating their 50th year since graduation are received as members of the society. Friendship, leadership, service and continuing personal support characterize the atmosphere and the activities of this society.

Boatwright Society Scholars Program

The Class of 1949 created the Boatwright Society Scholars Program as the designation of their class gift for their milestone reunion in 1999. This program, funded with gifts from 50th Reunion classes and members of the Boatwright Society, awards a merit based scholarship to direct lineal descendants of University of Richmond alumni and alumnae.

When there are two or more scholars, 50 percent of the scholars must reside in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Once the scholarship can provide 50 percent of the cost of tuition for one student, a new scholarship will be added.

Current Recipients

Greg "Scott" Allison, '17
Hometown: Fredericksburg, Virginia

Ramon “Reese” Chalkley, ‘15
Hometown: Mechanicsville, Virginia

Sara Hagberg, ‘15
Hometown: Glenn Allen, Virginia

Past Recipients

Stephen R. Wilson R'12

Allison M. DuVal J'08

Mai-Ann M. Tran

Aaron S. Lee R'06

Katherine R. Turner